The Chapter

Nu Upsilon Zeta Chapter 


Due to the anxiety to witness growth in chapters and membership of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, three members of the Beta Sigma Zeta Chapter, Sorors Jessie M. Artest, Lena S. Spencer and Essie C. Feu began a feasible study of the Tampa Bay Area to determine whether to submit an application form to the National Office for the chartering of a new Graduate Zeta Chapter in the Tampa Bay Area.


The Sorors found that Beta Sigma Zeta had grown to sixty-six financial members and the officers were planning to increase the number of Sorors through the Reclamation Drive. Since there were members living in Temple Terrace and others living on the border line, Sorors concentrated on drawing members from communities within a twenty-five mile radius for membership.  The following Florida cities were included:  Temple Terrace, Brandon, Lutz, Lithia, Mango, Odessa, Ruskin, Sun City, Seffner, Carrollwood, Thonotosassa, Wimauma, Riverview, Valrico, and Tampa.


Bubbling over with love for Zeta, the Sorors discussed the matter with several other Sorors who had a similar love for Zeta.  They were eager for the "new beginning."


The appropriate officers on the State, Regional, and National levels were contacted.  A new Graduate Chapter for the Tampa Bay Area was approved.


The Chartering Program and Ceremony were held on October 10, 1987 at the Sheraton Tampa East Hotel.  Then Sorors became Chapter Members of the new Graduate Chapter, Nu Upsilon Zeta.  The Charter Members are Sorors Jessie M. Artest, Arnetta Collins, Thelma S. Craig, Willie Mae Cross, Essie C. Feu, Altamease G. Nickson, Marcia M. Reddy, Hilda P. Smith, Thelma Louise Stokes Craig, and Evelyn S. Williams.


The International Grand Basileus, Soror Eunice S. Thomas, was in charge of the Chartering Ceremony, assisted by the Southeastern Regional Director, Soror Macon Gardner and the Florida State Director, Soror Rosa T. Brown.


Temple Terrace, Florida was accepted as the Chapter Seat.






Chapter Officers


Soror Shatysh Williams - President


Soror Nakia Sturrup - 1st Vice President

Soror Chenise Malone - 2nd Vice President


Soror Morgan Blount - 3rd Vice President


Soror Trina Wrisper-Williams - Secretary


Soror Chiquitta Nash - Treasurer

Soror Lakecia Street-Sharpe - Treasurer- Secretary


Soror Glenda Davis - Reporter


Soror Jasmine Miles - Parliamentarian


Soror Kim Mallard - Public Relations


Soror Latoya Douglas-Morgan - Historian